Aehl and I are looking for a new place to move to; a few weeks ago, we were held up at gun point on our way home one night and that was the last straw. Apartment living doesn’t suit her health (not that I’m healthy myself, but my issues have little to do with the apartment) and since this is a commercial building, we can’t afford to keep paying commercial rates on our utilities.

For a skeptic, spooky things sure have a way of happening around me. I would pass them off as hallucinations if there weren’t more people who experienced them with me. The latest weirdness involved a bottle of body spray: soon after Aehl packed up an engraving of Quranic verses (is there a special word for religious decor?) the bottle suddenly flew off the desk I had placed it on, right under where the engraving used to be, and smashed with great force on to the floor. Aehl assured me it happened because the bottle was on the edge of the desk even though I was sure it wasn’t. It was late at night and I didn’t pursue it further. This morning I noticed the cap was also unscrewed.

“It managed to unscrew its cap as well? No way was it on the edge of the desk!” I exclaimed.

Now safely sitting in a sunlit room, Aehl admitted that it hadn’t been anywhere near the edge. But she hadn’t wanted me to freak out because fear only makes things worse.

I cracked a few jokes about where we’d be if ghosts were Atheists (“Oh shut that mumbling, will you! Don’t you have any Dawkins to read to me?”) and left it at that.

As afternoon turned to evening, I remained quiet and finally Aehl came up to me and asked me if I was feeling scared or creeped out by what happened with the bottle. I looked at her and paused before replying:

“I’m 24 years old, I’m bipolar, I make my living freelancing online to earn barely enough to pitch in for the bills, and now I might have to drop out of a college degree I spent 4 years trying to earn because I can’t afford the tuition fees if I get detained and I can’t afford the mental strain if I go back, which is definitely going to have an impact on my career and how much I can earn 10 years down the road, and on top of that my health is failing, all of which makes for one very uncertain future. Any ghost shows up in front of me right now, Imma sit it down and say to it
“Let me tell you what’s REALLY scary–life.”

6 thoughts on “Life

  1. Sorry you’re going through a rough time but how amazing to see your resilient spirit and humour. My live-in ghost says you shall triumph. About the religious engraving: They’re called tughraas. And life IS terrifying – terrifying but beautiful πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve always wanted to write something along these lines, but you beat me to it πŸ˜‰ Hang in there. You’ll end up somewhere and you’ll make it worthwhile.

What do you think?

